Board Members

The current members of the PICA Board are as follows:

Kevin Vaughan


Mr. Vaughan’s extensive career in government service began as Legislative Director for Philadelphia City Councilman Angel Ortiz before being appointed by then-Mayor Rendell as Executive Director of the Philadelphia Commission on Human Relations. Mr. Vaughan was then appointed by President William Jefferson Clinton as a Regional Director of the US Department of Health and Human Services. He returned to service in Philadelphia as the Associate Director of the Free Library, Chief of Staff of the Managing Director’s Office, Deputy Commissioner of the Department of Public Health, and finally as the Director of the Deputy Mayor’s Office for Health and Opportunity/Deputy Health Commissioner.

Mr. Vaughan is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania (C’77), attended the Fels School of Government, and holds executive education certificates from Columbia University and Harvard University. He was appointed to the PICA Board in 2016 by Governor Wolf.

Alan C. Kessler, Esq.


Mr. Kessler is an attorney in the area of commercial litigation with a focus on class actions and other complex litigation, government relations, and general counseling as a partner at Duane Morris LLP.

Mr. Kessler’s public service includes serving as a presidential appointee by President Clinton as the Vice Chair of the Presidential/Congressional Commission on Risk Assessment and Risk Management; and as a presidential appointee by President Clinton to the Board of Governors of the United States Postal Service. He was elected Chair of the USPS Board of Governors in 2008.

Mr. Kessler was appointed to serve as a member of the PICA Board by the Democratic Leader of the Senate in 2015.

Michael A. Karp

Secretary / Treasurer

Mr. Karp’s prior government service includes service as a member of the Board of Education of the School District of Philadelphia. He is the founder of University City Housing and is active in the civic affairs of the University City community in West Philadelphia.  He was first appointed to serve as a member of the PICA Board by the Speaker of the House of Representatives in 2000 and has been reappointed to the Board upon expiration of each term of office.

Mr. Karp was last reappointed to the Board in 2021.

Courtney N. Richardson, Esq.

Assistant Treasurer/Secretary

Ms. Richardson is an attorney whose practice focuses on municipal and real estate law in Montgomery and Delaware Counties. She is an Associate at Kilkenny Law.

Ms. Richardson has an extensive background in financial and governmental service.  She started her career as a stockbroker and investment advisor at Merrill Lynch. Ms. Richardson has served as Counsel to the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue. She was an Assistant Solicitor in the Philadelphia Department of Revenue before transitioning to private practice.  Ms. Richardson holds a Doctor of Jurisprudence from West Virginia University College of Law and an LL.M. in taxation from Temple University Beasley School of Law.

Ms. Richardson was appointed to serve as a member of the PICA Board by the Democratic Leader of the House in 2021.

T. Roderick Henkels

Board Member

T. Roderick Henkels is the Chairman, President & Chief Executive Officer for Henkels & McCoy Group, Inc., an industry-leading, privately held utility construction and engineering contractor providing critical infrastructure for the power, oil & gas pipeline, gas distribution, and communications markets throughout North America, and represents the third generation of commitment to the company that his grandfather founded in 1923.

Mr. Henkels is a former Chair of and currently serves on the OSHA Electrical, Transmission and Distribution Partnership Executive Committee, is a member of the Finance Council of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia and is a Board member of Cristo Rey Philadelphia High School.   Mr Henkels is a former Chairman of the Board of Trustees and a former Chairman of the Diversity Committee of St. Joseph’s Preparatory School, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, is a former Chair of the Cradle of Liberty Boy Scouts of America Board (COLBSA),  is former Board member of Wissahickon Skating Club. He is a former member of the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce Board, a former member of The Fairmount Park Historic Preservation Trust Board and has served on the Liberty Mutual Advisory Board of Pennsylvania.  Mr. Henkels earned a Bachelor of Arts in Economics at Merrimack College, North Andover, Massachusetts.

Mr. Henkels was appointed to serve as a member of the PICA Board by the Senate Pro Tempore in 2021.

Ex-Officio Members

Mr. Gregory Thall

Budget Secretary
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
238 Main Capitol Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120

Ms. Natalie Krug

(Alternate for Mr. Thall)
Director of Governor’s Budget Office
333 Market Street, 19th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17101-2210

Mr. Rob Dubow

Director of Finance
City of Philadelphia
1330 Municipal Services Building
1401 John F. Kennedy Boulevard
Philadelphia, PA 19102

Ms. Marisa Waxman

(Alternate for Mr. Dubow)
Budget Director
City of Philadelphia
1330 Municipal Services Building
1401 John F. Kennedy Boulevard
Philadelphia, PA 19102